Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics |

Radar Chart Data Update / Memory Usage
George
#1 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 8:48:58 AM(UTC)
Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/26/2012(UTC)
Posts: 4

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 0 time(s) in 0 post(s)
Hi,

We are quite impressed with your product and we intend to use it in our application (just bought the license as i found out).

I would like to ask if updating only the data of a chart is possible. I searched through the examples but didn't find anything similar (maybe i missed something).

Currently we are interested in updating a radar chart in real-time, and performance is very important.
The chart we will use will probably have to be redrawn 3-4 times per second.
Our workaround so far is to redraw the whole chart, but i think that it's a pretty expensive operation to do so.
Could you give an example of updating only the data without having to redraw the whole chart?

Also I am concerned about how much memory will be used for such frequent updates.
We used an SVG library previously and it had a serious memory leak with firefox.
Should we be worried about this?

Thank you in advance


George
Dragan
#2 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 9:25:53 AM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Administrators, DataVizJavaScript, jQueryChart, jQueryDV, MvcChart, Registered
Joined: 1/3/2011(UTC)
Posts: 483

Thanks: 0 times
Was thanked: 87 time(s) in 87 post(s)
Hi,

Thanks for the good words.

Currently, you need to recreate/redraw the whole chart. We have plans that the chart can be modified with changing some setting (in your case the data), but for now you can just recreate the chart like in this sample:
http://www.jqchart.com/samples/RealTime/LiveData


That doesn’t mean the jqChart is slow. It uses the pure HTML5 Canvas rendering (in the browsers that support it) and it is really fast.

I’ve just tested our live chart sample with more frequent updates and the performance is really good, but it seems we also have some memory issues. We’re checking them and I’ll let you know when we find the cause for that.
Best Regards,
Dragan Matek
jqChart Inc.
George
#3 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 9:49:44 AM(UTC)
Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/26/2012(UTC)
Posts: 4

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 0 time(s) in 0 post(s)
Hi Dragan,

I just opened the live data sample and i can see firefox using-up memory as the chart redraws.
This is very important for us since it is the main reason we are dumping the SVG solution we integrated.

I just saw an email from one of the project leads and he advises on acquiring the "Developer License with Subscription and Priority Support".
Does this mean that we can also have some custom/beta versions that may address problems such as memory leaks?
Also, do we get access to the source code (unobfuscated)?

Dragan
#4 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 9:50:29 AM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Administrators, DataVizJavaScript, jQueryChart, jQueryDV, MvcChart, Registered
Joined: 1/3/2011(UTC)
Posts: 483

Thanks: 0 times
Was thanked: 87 time(s) in 87 post(s)
Hi,

We found the memory issue. It is because we are attaching some events multiple times. If you want I can send you a fixed version via email, so you can test it.
Best Regards,
Dragan Matek
jqChart Inc.
Dragan
#5 Posted : Thursday, January 26, 2012 9:54:46 AM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Administrators, DataVizJavaScript, jQueryChart, jQueryDV, MvcChart, Registered
Joined: 1/3/2011(UTC)
Posts: 483

Thanks: 0 times
Was thanked: 87 time(s) in 87 post(s)
Hi,

Quote:
I just saw an email from one of the project leads and he advises on acquiring the "Developer License with Subscription and Priority Support".
Does this mean that we can also have some custom/beta versions that may address problems such as memory leaks?
Also, do we get access to the source code (unobfuscated)?


- Yes, this is exactly for what this license is developed. With this license we can send you unobfuscated source code as well.
Best Regards,
Dragan Matek
jqChart Inc.
1 user thanked Dragan for this useful post.
George on 1/27/2012(UTC)
George
#6 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2012 10:33:22 AM(UTC)
Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/26/2012(UTC)
Posts: 4

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 0 time(s) in 0 post(s)
We just finished testing and the fixed version works great.
There is a minor increase in memory but it gets freed quite quickly. Things are better in FF and Safari. Chrome eats up a little more RAM.

We are very satisfied with the chart's performance and the fix of the memory leak.
Thank you for the great support!
jacky
#7 Posted : Monday, January 30, 2012 2:54:35 AM(UTC)
Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 1/30/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1

Thanks: 0 times
Was thanked: 0 time(s) in 0 post(s)
Hi Dragan,

I have a personal project to use this chart.Now I found the same memory issue.I am very eager to solve it to continue with the development.
Can you tell me when to release a new version fix this issue? Or send me a fixed version via email?

Thank you in advance!
Dragan
#8 Posted : Friday, April 6, 2012 1:41:04 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Administrators, DataVizJavaScript, jQueryChart, jQueryDV, MvcChart, Registered
Joined: 1/3/2011(UTC)
Posts: 483

Thanks: 0 times
Was thanked: 87 time(s) in 87 post(s)
Hi,

The memory issues are fixed in jqChart version 3.0.0.0.
You can download the new version from http://www.jqchart.com/Download.aspx

Also you can check this sample:

http://www.jqchart.com/samples/ChartPerformance/LiveUpdates
Best Regards,
Dragan Matek
jqChart Inc.
Users browsing this topic
Guest (2)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

FlatEarth Theme by Jaben Cargman (Tiny Gecko)
Powered by YAF 1.9.4 | YAF © 2003-2010, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.127 seconds.